
 

SCHOOL HEALTH (BASIC)  

SCREENINGS 

SICKNESS 

VACCINES 

MEDICATIONS 

School  Heal th Services 

2801 Kennedy Street  

Pala tka,  FL 3177 

386-326-3200 

Fax:  386-326-3350 

The Florida Department of Health In Putnam 

County and The Putnam County School District 

work together for the health and safety of the stu-

dents in our county. 

Examinations and Screenings 

How well your child sees and hears can affect 

his/her ability to learn. 

Florida Statute 1003.22 requires any child 
who is entering a Florida school for the first 
time to  present proof of a physical 
examination. This exam must include a 
review of all body systems performed by a 
licensed medial provider within 12 months 
prior to enrollment. A yearly physical exam is 
recommended as well as twice a year  dentist 
visits for all children.  

Use a commercial product designated to get rid of 

head lice, which may be obtained from your doc-

tor or local drugstore. 

Be sure to follow the directions carefully. Don’t 

overuse these products. For advice on alternative 

treatments consult your medical provider. 

Do find and remove all eggs (nits) from the hair.  

Do check your child’s head every day for two 

weeks to be sure no eggs were missed by combing 

hair with a nit comb. 

Do check all members of the family or household 

and treat only those members affected. 

Do wash linens and bedding in hot water and dry 

thoroughly. 

Do vacuum carpets, pillows, mattresses, uphol-

stered furniture and car seats. 

Do place stuff animals/objects in a sealed bag for 

2 weeks. 

Do soak brushes, combs, and other hair objects in 

hot water for at least 10 minutes. 

Putnam County School District has a 

“No Nit Policy” 

 

IF YOU FIND HEAD LICE 

If your child is sick or injured 

at school, you will be called to 

pick him/her up.  Please be 

sure the school has your 

current home and office phone 

number. 

Head lice live on the human head and lay eggs 

called nits which stick to the hair. 

 

Head lice crawl very fast, but they don’t hop 

skip or jump from head to head. 

 

Head lice infestation is not a life threatening 

medical condition. 

 

Encourage your child to not share combs, hats 

or other clothing with other children and 

check your child’s head on a regular basis (for 

instance, every Sunday evening.) 

HEAD LICE 



When possible, give medications at home! 

 

School Personnel will administer approved 

medications to students during the school 

day when it is necessary to help the child stay 

in school. 

 

In order to administer medication or treat-

ment to your child at school, the following 

conditions must be met: 

 

 

1. A Medication/Treatment Authorization 

Form signed by you and your doctor for 

any medications to be administered in 

school (including over the counter medi-

cations) must be on file in school as 

required by law. 

2. Medication must be in the original pre-

scription or un-opened over the counter 

container labeled with the child’s name, 

medication name, dosage, and times to 

be administered. (any medication that 

needs to cut should be cut before it is 

brought to the school) 

3. Parent/guardian must deliver the signed 

Medication/Treatment Authorization 

Form and medication directly to the 

school health room or assigned school 

board employee so that medications can 

be accepted and counted. 

 

 

 

MEDICATION IN SCHOOL 

Scoliosis Screening (spine screening) Scoliosis is a side to 

side curvature of the spine that is detectable in children 

of middle school age. Early treatment can prevent the 

condition from becoming severe. Scoliosis screening will 

be conducted on students in 6th grade according to state 

mandates. 

Vision and Hearing Screenings are done in grades Kg, 1, 

3, 6 & 9  

Height and Weight Measurements Screenings are done 

in grades Kg,1, 3, 6 & 9 

Other screening information: Parents may request in 

writing for any screening at any grade level. Any parent 

wishing to opt their child out of a screening must do so 

in writing. 

If your child should fail vision, BMI, hearing or scoliosis 

screenings, you will receive a letter with information 

and/or follow-up instructions. The screening and follow-

up results will be noted in your child’s health record. 

 

Do not send your child to school if she/he is sick or has:  

•bad cough •eye infection  

•diarrhea •vomiting  •severe sore throat 

•fever: must be free of fever without medication for at 

least 24 hours  

•skin rash: your child needs a note from a healthcare 

provider that she/he is not contagious. 

 

WHEN YOUR CHILD IS SICK 

Immunization Requirements 

Pre-Kindergarten 

4 DTaP (Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis) 

3 or 4 Polio 

4 HIB (Haemophilus Inflenzae Type B) 

1 MMR (Measles, Mumps, Rubella) 

3 Hepatitis B 

1 Varicella (chicken pox) 

Kindergarten & Grades 1-6: 

5 DTaP  

4 or 5 Polio 

2 MMR (Measles, Mumps, Rubella) 

3 Hepatitis B 

1 Varicella (chicken pox) required depending upon grade 
level. 

Grades 7-12: 

5 DTaP 

4 or 5 Polio 

2 MMR (Measles, Mumps, Rubella) 

3 Hepatitis B 

1 Td or Tdap 

1 Varicella ( chicken pox) 

State of Florida Statute 1003.22 requires all stu-

dents entering and attending school to present a 

Florida Certification of Immunization form 

(DH680) or Religious Exemption form (DH681) to 

the school.  You can get these forms from the Flori-

da Department of Health In Putnam County. Im-

munizations are FREE at the Florida Department of 

Health In Putnam County through the age of 18. 

Bring shot records with you. Keep a record of all 

your child's immunizations. Always send an updated 

DH 680 form to school after any shots are received.  

SCREENINGS IMMUNIZATIONS 


