To protect the privacy of sensitive information and to prevent identify theft, the cause of death on a Death Certificate is not public record. As required by state law, we restrict access to these certificates, but they are readily available to the individuals, family members and guardians or beneficiaries. We require requesting individuals to produce photo identification and/or other documentation before releasing these confidential records or portions of the records.
Florida Department of Health in Putnam County
2801 Kennedy Street
Palatka, FL 32177
Phone: (386) 326-3274 Fax: (386) 326-3351
Office Hours: 8:00 am - 4:30 pm Monday through Thursday and 9:00 am - 4:30 pm Friday
To obtain and use a Florida Vital Record under false pretenses or for fraudulent purposes is a 3rd degree felony punishable by terms and conditions set forth in section 382.026, Florida Statutes (F.S.).
The Florida Department of Health in Putnam County is currently able to provide State of Florida death records from 2009 to the present date. The Bureau of Vital Statistics in Jacksonville is diligently working on access to later state death records for all county health departments in Florida. We will keep you updated on the release date.
If the death occurred in another state, please go to the following link to obtain address information to order the certificate: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/w2w.htm
Obtaining a Florida Death Certificate
Who can obtain a copy of a Death Certificate?
Death Certificates WITHOUT cause of death may be requested by any person.
Death Certificates WITH cause are confidential and can only be issued to:
- the registrant’s spouse
- parents listed on the birth record
- children of registrant if of legal age
- any persons with legal documentation (documentation must also be provided).
What information is needed for Death Certificates with cause?
- State issued driver license
- State issued photo ID card
- Military ID
- Concealed weapons permit
A completed Death Certificate Request Form
You will need to provide the person's:
- Full name
- Date of death
- County of death
How to apply for a Florida Death Certificate
In Person: Florida Department of Health in Putnam County, 2801 Kennedy St, Palatka, FL 32177. Bring photo ID and payment. Applications available at counter.
By Mail: Florida Department of Health in Putnam County, Attn: Vital Statistics, 2801 Kennedy St, Palatka, FL 32177. Send application, photo ID (front and back) and a money order. Please note: for this request, there is a $10.00 mail fee. Cannot deliver to P.O. Boxes; include the mailing address that FedEx can deliver to.
Fax: (386) 326-3351 please fax application, photo ID (front and back), and return number to contact you for payment by phone. (Visa, MasterCard, and debit with Visa or MasterCard logo).
Please note: Provide an enlarged, lightened, and readable photocopy of your ID when mailing or faxing with your request. After faxing your application and required ID, please contact our office at (386) 326-3274 to verify your faxed request was received and the ID is clear to read.
What is the cost?
Florida Death Certificate:
$8.00 per copy
$2.00 protective sleeve for Short (without cause) Only
Rush and Mail Orders:
$10.00 rush fee
$10.00 mail fee (FedEx)
Methods of payment:
Debit (with Visa/MasterCard logo)
Sorry NO Checks!
How soon can I expect a copy?
Your request will be processed immediately if you come to our office in person.
Your request will be processed the same day it is received by mail /fax. Note: anything after noon will be mailed the next business day by FedEx.